Options

Got my computer going

special kidspecial kid Registered Users Posts: 30 Big grins
edited December 7, 2004 in People
I haven't posted anything for about 7 to 8 month so you might not remember me. I'm 24 in the navy in San Diego, just got back from deployment and trying to get started in photography. I have been shooting for about 7 years (SLRs) and decided to make it a career. I'm trying to go to Art Institute of Philadelphia next fall. I'm interested in sports, fashion, modeling, and all other kinds of stuff. I did some portfolio shots this weekend and had a couple of photos I liked and would like a second set of eyes.

81bz.jpg
190cn.jpg
66gn.jpg

I like constructive criticism so don’t feel shy

Comments

• Options
    edited December 7, 2004
    sorry about the size wasn't thinking
  • Options
    Tim KirkwoodTim Kirkwood Registered Users Posts: 900 Major grins
    edited December 7, 2004
    The top one is awsome, the middle one looks a bit underexposed and the bottom one to me looks a bit over exposed.

VERY beautiful model

Goood shots and well composed.

Tim

P.S. Don't know ya but welcome back:D
    www.KirkwoodPhotography.com

Speak with sweet words, for you never know when you may have to eat them....
  • Options
    DJ-S1DJ-S1 Registered Users Posts: 2,303 Major grins
    edited December 7, 2004
    Hey Kid -
    Thanks for posting, nice to have you back. I'm no expert, but I played with your last one a bit, here are my thoughts. First, the original:

12435924-M.jpg

Now the mods:

12435926-M.jpg

It seemed way overexposed to me, even considering you were looking into the sunset. So here's what I did;

Ctrl-J to copy the background to a new layer.
    change the blending mode to "overlay" to boost saturation.
    masked out the background on the overlay layer.
    flatten layers.
    Ctrl-J again.
    change blending mode to "linear burn" to darken up the background some.
    masked out the girl and board.
    flatten layers.