Options

Bring your camera to work

greenpeagreenpea Registered Users Posts: 880 Major grins
edited October 4, 2006 in Mind Your Own Business
The above mentioned advice is obviously for those of you who are not full time professional photographers.

I work in IT for the Graduate School of University of Washington, and I try and bring my camera to work at least a couple of times a week, with hopes getting out at some point in the day and capturing a few photos of the University’s beautiful campus.

Because it’s such a common sight to see me wandering off with my camera during lunch, everyone knows that I’m into photography, and that fact finally paid off.

The University of Washington is a member of the Council of Graduate Schools (based in Washington D.C.). The Council of Graduate Schools decorates its walls with photos of all the universities which have been represented by their board of directors, but they lacked a photo of the University of Washington. So the person that they came to for a pictures was me! I got a nice sale of a 16 x 20 of this image:

98355814-M-1.jpg

My only regret is that I didn’t charge more for the image. :rofl
Andrew
initialphotography.smugmug.com

"The camera is an instrument that teaches people how to see without a camera" - Dorothea Lange

Comments

• Options
    SpeshulEdSpeshulEd Registered Users Posts: 341 Major grins
    edited October 2, 2006
    red x :(
    bored? check out my photo site...and if you have the time, leave a comment or rate some pictures while you're there.
    Canon 20D | Canon 17-40mm f/4L USM | Tamron 28-75 f2.8 XR Di LD IF | Canon 50mm f/1.8 II | Canon 70-200mm f/2.8L USM
  • Options
    edited October 2, 2006
    SpeshulEd wrote:
    red x :(

weird. should be fixed now.
    Andrew

"The camera is an instrument that teaches people how to see without a camera" - Dorothea Lange
  • Options
    edited October 2, 2006