Options

UT vs. LSU Soccer

UT ScottUT Scott Registered Users Posts: 175 Major grins
edited October 9, 2006 in Sports
Hey everyone! Last night I had my first chance to shoot soccer for my schools newspaper. I was a little scared at first because I know very little about soccer, even less about how to shoot it. I was also using a lens I've never used before (Nikon 70-200 2.8 VR) and had to learn how to use that too.

I do think I managed to get some decent shots, none are cropped because I hold the title for the worlds worst cropper. Every crop I do makes the picture look very bad, I know, you say it's not possible if the picture is good, but I manage every time! :scratch

The team started by coming out onto the field with high five's for everyone.

1.100629014-M.jpg

2. I would have thought hitting you head on a ball as hard as the ones they use would hurt like crazy, but it didn't seem to phase them.
100633981-M.jpg

3. Lots of challenges (I think that's the word) in the game, which made for good action.
100634137-M.jpg

4. 100634348-M.jpg

100634810-M.jpg

6. The refs would not call any fouls on LSU, but if our team even touched their player the whistle would blow!
100686396-M.jpg

7. It left a few of our players on the ground
100661952-M.jpg

8. We did end up getting a goal which lead to a big celebration.
100641659-M.jpg

9. And then another goal which made it 2-1 UT
100655588-M.jpg

10. Despite the intense game, sportsmanship was very present
100691305-M.jpg

Well thanks for taking a look, if you guys have suggestions on cropping or better ways to shoot let me know. If you want to check out the rest of the pictures you can see them here.

Also, anyone who has used the 70-200 VR, how do you hold it? I couldn't get it to feel right no matter what I did. I had my hand on the zoom ring for most of the game, but also tried holding the lens shade. I do however love this lens, and am now trying to find a way I can scrape together $1700 to buy one :huh

Comments