Options

portrait help please!

ElaineElaine Registered Users Posts: 3,532 Major grins
edited November 30, 2006 in People
I have done a number of things to this portrait already, but I'm still frustrated by the greenish hue on the bridge of her nose. I am using Photoshop Elements...does anyone have any ideas on how to get rid of that green?? Any other suggestions for improvement?

111415926-L.jpg
Elaine

Comments and constructive critique always welcome!

Elaine Heasley Photography

Comments

• Options
    JimWJimW Registered Users Posts: 333 Major grins
    edited November 19, 2006
    Elaine,

First, that’s a beautiful photo. I’m not an expert but here goes: The color seems way out of balance. I don’t know why it came out that way. I don’t know enough to go in and fix it locally. So I took it into cmyk and, at the bridge of the nose in that shadow, the readings are c-44 m-51 y-82 k-28. Okay, that’s really a lot of value for that area. Too much and too dark. Smugmug has some great help screens on skin tone values (http://www.smugmug.com/help/skin-tone). In a nutshell, the cyan should be roughly 30 to 50% of the magenta (in this area it is roughly 90% of the magenta value!). And for this kid, perhaps the yellow should be 5-15 percentage points above the magenta (but the yellow in this area is 31 points above magenta)

So I added 1 stop of exposure, then in cmyk I tried to curve the c,m & y to follow the smugmug “formula” (from their help screen). I couldn’t get it all the way, but just part of the way.

Fill flash would have helped, I think. It would brighten the eyes, provide catchlight and eliminate the shadows you’re asking about.

I think your work is really good. I love the response people are giving you with their eyes. Hope that you don’t think I’m telling you how the photo should be. I don’t mean to do that.

Jim

I don't want the cheese, I just want to get out of the trap.

http://www.jimwhitakerphotography.com/
  • Options