Options

Star Trails.

docbelldocbell Registered Users Posts: 110 Major grins
edited December 5, 2006 in Landscapes
This is my first attempt at star trails, taken in the Sierras. It wasn't ideal conditions as it was very windy when this was taken - you can see some motion blur to the tree and I think Polaris and the star trails themselves would have been much sharper if there was no wind. Patience, and a full camera battery, seem to be important aspects in taking these shots.

111006539-L.jpg

Details: RebelXT, 24-105 (at 40 mm), f6.3, iso200, 28.6 minutes, RAW, tripod, shutter release, MLU.

Comments and critiques welcomed.
Kevin.

Comments

• Options
    mushymushy Registered Users Posts: 643 Major grins
    edited November 21, 2006
    docbell wrote:
    This is my first attempt at star trails, taken in the Sierras. It wasn't ideal conditions as it was very windy when this was taken - you can see some motion blur to the tree and I think Polaris and the star trails themselves would have been much sharper if there was no wind. Patience, and a full camera battery, seem to be important aspects in taking these shots.

111006539-L.jpg

Details: RebelXT, 24-105 (at 40 mm), f6.3, iso200, 28.6 minutes, RAW, tripod, shutter release, MLU.

Comments and critiques welcomed.
    Kevin.

What if any post processing have you done to the photo? as I have tried similar with a 20d and ended up with a fair amount of noise. also what ambient light etc. I'm intrigued as this has come out quite well. Maybe hitting the tree with a flash or a light of some sort just briefly would give it some detail rather than just a black blur.
    Just some thoughts...
    May I take your picture?
  • Options
    kreskres Registered Users Posts: 268 Major grins
    edited November 21, 2006
    This is one of those shots I really want to try to take.

I love the way that the color of the stars is so much more apparent with the timed exposure.