Options

shallow DOF and getting proper focus

ElaineElaine Registered Users Posts: 3,532 Major grins
edited January 14, 2007 in Technique
All right...what is the point of having a lens that opens to 2.8 and 1.7 if you can't get a clear shot? I've heard that lenses tend to be soft at the extreme ends, but I just did a series of test shots (very rudimentary, but a place to start anyway) and my little 50mm prime doesn't want to give me clearly focussed pictures 'till at least f/4, better at 5.6. Why should I invest in fast glass if I can't use anything below 4 anyway? I would love to use the wider aperture for light and DOF, but AHHHH! I am frustrated and ready to give up! It can't be this hard or no one would take pictures! I especially want to capture kids and get their eyes nice and clear and sharp, not their nose or their shirt or the whole thing a blur. What am I doing wrong and how can I really test to decipher where the issues are? I have tons to learn, but I'm not a complete noob! I've taken some photography classes and have taken a ton of pictures in the last few years. Please help! Thanks in advance!

Elaine
Elaine

Comments and constructive critique always welcome!

Elaine Heasley Photography

Comments

• Options
    Shay StephensShay Stephens Registered Users Posts: 3,165 Major grins
    edited December 9, 2006
    The 50mm at wide apertures can be finicky when it comes to focus. I find that patience and really concentrating on the focus when shooting in low light pays off, but it can still be a little hit and miss when it comes to focus. But it can be improved with practice.

Pay attention to the areas of contrast where you are trying to focus. If there is not much contrast at the point of focus, but there is just off to the side of it, the camera may grab that area to focus on. Or it not achieve focus at all if there is not enough contrast. Especially important as the light levels diminish.