Winging it to the Richmond (Australia) Airshow.

christulkchristulk Registered Users Posts: 453 Major grins
edited January 28, 2007 in Journeys
Hi all,

This is my first post in this thread, so I hope it is ok. I will start off by saying that I am a pilot in the Royal Australian Air Force (RAAF) who was very lucky to be posted (assigned) to the RAAF Museum (http://www.raafmuseum.com.au/) for a little over a year. During that time the Museum purchased a DH82A Tiger Moth and myself and a mechanic colleague flew it from Coffs Harbour in northern New South Wales to Point Cook in Victoria - unfortunately I didn't take my camera. So when the opportunity arose to fly to the Richmond airshow, I made sure my camera came along.

The Tiger Moth is an old bi-plane that was designed in the early 30's and this particular one was built in 1943.

The RAAF used them as trainers for many years, and as a result the Museum decided to have a flying example in it's collection. This is it after our fantastic volunteers 'touched it up a bit'. It looks fantastic (IMO)

70198519-M.jpg

I digress.. This trip took place in October last year and was a real hoot! We set off in rather strong winds which made our ground speed about 40 knots (76 kph or 40 mph) which meant for some time we were looking down and being over taken by cars!!!

After the wind died down a bit, I was able to get my camera out and get a shot of the dry Aussie countryside:

105690663-M.jpg

The pilot in this aircraft sits in the back and I found it difficult to get my camera out whilst flying - fortunately there is a stick in the front, and Brett my 'starter motor' (the engine is started by hand swinging the prop) was able to fly while I tried to shoot.

105690742-M.jpg

Even though in October in Australia the weather is ok. at 3000' in an open cockpit, the temperature drops, so the woolen coats were a must.