Options

How you attract buisness

Mac SwensonMac Swenson Registered Users Posts: 29 Big grins
edited January 26, 2007 in Mind Your Own Business
Ok, so like many others, I've decided to de-lurk myself out of necessity. I have been an avid photographer for many years, and just recently, i have found the burden of handeling all the printing and selling to parents to become to much for me. Thats why I'm here at SM. What I'm having the most troubble with right now, is how to get my SM site out there. I suppose i could have some buisness cards printed, get a local kid, buy him a few sodas and some candy(sounds pretty shady already) and have him pass out the cards at an event. What i have also though about doing, but havent decided, is to create a gallery of say 100 of my best shots, put it on my laptop, and have it running on a table at the same events. I do sports photography almost exclusivly, and thats what generates my sales, so what do peopel in my situation do? Any tips help. Most of the stuff is at the local high school. I have feild access, as well as access to be on the base line, etc... I usualy coordinate with some of the teams that i shoot often, but thats only 2 or 3. the rest that i only have a chance to shoot 5 or 6 of their games are usualy the ones that sell the least, or not at all.

Thanks a lot, Mac

Comments

• Options
    JDubJDub Registered Users Posts: 171 Major grins
    edited January 22, 2007
    Welcome to the wonderful world of having your own photography business. I will keep this one short, but here are some tips:

- market yourself as much as possible
    - keyword every photo on SM with good keywords
    - get a simple website, if possible and use it for contact info, prices, etc
    - shoot often, and build your portfolio as much as you can
    - have a SM gallery public and use that as your portfolio (watermark images)
    - hand out business cards every time you can