Options

Cookies on Safari Thoughts

photoaviatorphotoaviator Registered Users Posts: 10 Big grins
edited January 28, 2007 in SmugMug Pro Sales Support
OK, I’m new to Smugmug so I have a lot to learn.

First of all, I did search and found several threads related to the issue of cookies on the Mac. I do know that if you have Accept Cookies to "Always" it will work correctly when you buy a photo.

What seems a little odd to me is that I have mine set to “Only from sites you navigate to” and of course it didn’t work when I tried it. I went to any random Smugmug users site and attempted to do a buy photo from their site and it worked. The site that I picked wasn’t doing a redirect, it was the Smugmug url whereas mine is a redirect from www.photoaviator.com. OK, so here what is odd, as soon as I did the purchase from another user, mine would then work correctly without changing my cookies setting.

I happened to be at an Apple store this weekend and tried this on several computers with the same result.

So why does this happen? It seems like it shouldn’t work at all but appears to work as soon as it picks up a cookie from another user.

Thoughts? Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Options
    AndyAndy Registered Users Posts: 50,016 Major grins
    edited October 22, 2006
    OK, I’m new to Smugmug so I have a lot to learn.

First of all, I did search and found several threads related to the issue of cookies on the Mac. I do know that if you have Accept Cookies to "Always" it will work correctly when you buy a photo.