Options

Advice on Business Licence, preferably VA

msfmsf Registered Users Posts: 229 Major grins
edited February 3, 2007 in Mind Your Own Business
I was just wondering whats involved in getting a business license. Im in VA if that matters.

I want to offer portraits part time, and I figured having the company registered would be good.

Im not sure where to start, who to talk to, or how much it will cost.

Comments

• Options
    Scott_QuierScott_Quier Registered Users Posts: 6,524 Major grins
    edited February 2, 2007
    Disclaimer: I'm not a lawyer. I'm not an accountant. I'm not qualified to offer either leglal, tax, or accounting advise. So, what I have to say is almost worth what you have paid to read it. That having been said....

Welcome to DGrin. I'm in Newport News. To get a business license you need to:
    • Determine if you are going to be a sole-proprietor, LLC, or INC
    • Determine what name you are going to use. If SP, you will be named in "official" documentation as John Doe, DBA Business Name
    • If LLC or INC, you need to apply to the state for incorporation. LLC is easy (one sheet of paper) and $50 (maybe it was $100 - don't remember). You will need a Tax Id Number to file your application. Get that from the Fed IRS.
    • Now, go to your city/county and let them know that you are starting up. NN charged me $50 tax based on estimated revenues. Then I had to go to city Codes Compliance office to schedule an inspection to "make sure my home-office met code" and that I wasn't working out of my unfinished garage. That cost me another $50.
    • After that, I'm legal. I also just received a request to itemize my business assets (equipment) for Business Property Tax assessment.
    Now I'm waiting for the next tax notice - don't know what it will be called, but I'm sure it'll be a doozy!

Good luck on your venture.
  • Options
    bsvirginianbsvirginian Registered Users Posts: 241 Major grins
    edited February 2, 2007
    :D Where in Va.? BS