Options

need some mac/pc guru help - Virus/Trojan related

docwalkerdocwalker Registered Users Posts: 1,867 SmugMug Employee
edited February 14, 2007 in Digital Darkroom
I need some advice or direction to better info.

I have been running PC's for a long time so I have some background with them.

I recently got a mac. I am not really worried about the mac catching a virus at this point. But, I had a recent event that makes me scratch my head as to what I was seeing.

I was working on a PC at one of the sites I manage doing updates and such. I also had my macbookpro open showing the guys at the site some of its features. When I had the dashboard open I noticed a weird connection show up in the airport network finder widget. Under the wireless network name that I was connected to, popped up "Trojan Virus Downloader" as an available network.

The wireless network I was connected to is a Linksys unit with firewall built in and active. The PC is hard wired to the WAP/LAN box and has the latest Norton AV/Internet Security updates. There is no other wireless network active in the area. It is very rural so I am pretty positive of this. I checked the PC and ran a virus and security scan on it. It ran fine with no indications of problems.

I am really confused at this point. I am not worried about the mac but seeing this new connection pop up makes me worry about the security of the WAP. I am wondering if it is time to get a new WAP with newer firewall technology or do another firmware upgrade to it. I thought it was up to date. At anyrate, it should not be generating a second network connection. I did not think that was possible. I may be wrong.

Has anyone seen anything like this or know where I might seek more info.
It is a wierd problem as I saw the problem on a mac but the problem appears to be more realated to the WAP or the PC. Go figure that the PC might be the source.

The mac is set up to always ask me before making connections.
SmugMug Support Hero