Options

Request: D70 EXIF

riedlriedl Registered Users Posts: 6 Beginner grinner
Hello. I'm a SmugMug newbie with a D70 and a bunch of photos. I don't know much about EXIF yet, but I'm sad that some of my Nikon D70 EXIF information that shows up in Nikon's capture tools doesn't show up on SmugMug. From browsing the fora it looks like others have this problem with the D70. Two thoughts:

1) I even hate to ask for this, because I'm betting Nikon is not EXIF-compliant, but: Are you guys thinking about including a D70-compliant parser for EXIF?

2) If not, how about an API that did something like deliver a raw EXIF string to an external parser? That way I could write my own parser that would work really hard to read as much of the EXIF stuff as is available.

Also: if I write a parser that uses the API to do something like the above, say in Python, is there a way for me to plug it into the SmugMug interface that I see on the site? If so, where might I read about how to do that?

Thanks!
John

Comments

• Options
    NikolaiNikolai Registered Users Posts: 19,035 Major grins
    edited January 5, 2005
    Hello
    1. Please provide a link to one of the (original?) files you have uploaded that features that "nikon-specific" EXIF.
    2. Are you a windows user (or mac/linux/etc)?
    Cheers!1drink.gif
    "May the f/stop be with you!"
  • Options
    flyingpylonflyingpylon Registered Users Posts: 260 Major grins
    edited January 5, 2005
    What specifically does not show up?

You have to remember that different manufacturers write EXIF data in different ways. There are a few standard fields, but then there are "Maker Notes" which can vary from manufacturer to manufacturer. I believe that the use of maker notes is allowed in the EXIF spec, so it may not be correct to say that Nikon is not EXIF-compliant. It's just that smugmug is not reading those maker notes.