Options

Time to start treating us like business partners

johngjohng Registered Users Posts: 1,658 Major grins
edited March 5, 2007 in SmugMug Pro Sales Support
OK,

I'm going to officially vent here. The loss of stats yet again for the 2nd time in 3 months is disturbing but doesn't affect the bottom line so to speak. But, 2 things do quite honestly have the potential to impact my bottom line:

1. You had a known, planned outage of servers and failed to contact me. I'm running my business off your servers and as a business partner I expect to be notified when you have a planned outage. And, I'm talking about YOU notifying ME - not me having to read up on a message board about it. I work in the IT industry and planned outages are a necessary evil - I understand that. But, if servers are going to be down then the people using those servers are notified. It's not just a PR issue it's a business issue.

2. My site still is not working properly - pages won't load - I've been trying for the last several hours to get to some photographs - some times it works and some times it doesn't. More often than not I simply can't get good response navigating within my photo galleries.

Why am I venting? Because, I shot a soccer game for some potential new clients this weekend and promised them the photos would be available on my site Midnight Tuesday - and I swear I'm not lying. Now, these new clients may or may not have tried to access the site yet - I don't know - I can't tell because there are no stats available. I hope they haven't because the horrible response with navigating the site would certainly leave a bad taste in their mouth.

We're not talking about an inconvenience of not being able to view some photos for entertainment purposes here. We're talking about the loss of current and future money to a business.