Options

Pricing for onsite Portraits

jh4wvujh4wvu Registered Users Posts: 169 Major grins
edited March 28, 2007 in Mind Your Own Business
I was asked to take portraits at a music conference that would potentially have over 600 kids over two days. I have never done something this big and don't know how much to charge. Heres what they want...

The company that I would be doing it for would hire another photographer to help out so it wouldn't be like I was doing all the photos. They are wanting me to give them a day/flat rate. On the first day I would be working about 4-5 hours and on the second day about 7-8 hours.

I also have to come up with some package pricing. They only want to offer a few packages which should make that part easy. Probably the most basic package would be 1 8x10 , 2 5x7s, and 4 wallets...something like that. I am thinking of using WHCC for the processing.

I have never done an event like this before and have no idea what to charge. Any ideas would be helpful.

Also, I have mostly done event photography without any special lighting. This event is next Spring so what would you suggest be a good lighting kit for starting out and this type of setup? Keep in mind I have year to improve on technique, etc.

Thanks ,
Chris

Comments

• Options
    bsvirginianbsvirginian Registered Users Posts: 241 Major grins
    edited March 27, 2007
    headscratch.gif I do a lot of "special event" photography and just have a few questions to ask.
    1) Where is the event being held? city, state, location
    2) what time is the event?
    3) How do you think the kids will be attired?
    4) When will they expect their images to be ready?

As mentioned, I do a lot of this and the numbers (of participants) doesn't really mean very much. Kids really don't buy packages unless its the prom or something like it. It has been my experience that even adults won't purchase packages unless they are expecting to be fairly well dressed or the pictures are free.