Options

Lens for sports

awmphotoawmphoto Registered Users Posts: 60 Big grins
edited April 22, 2007 in Sports
I've recently been intrested in shooting sports, but I'm wondering what lens I should get. I've been looking at a 300 f/4 or an 80-200 f/2.8. Being a high school student my budget is a limited to say the least. My question would be is the 300 too long for shooting high school baseball (I would have access to the dugout) I'd love to hear your opinions on which lens you would recomend for general sports shooting. Most of my shooting would be done in the afternoon and possibly a few games at early dusk, and I have a nikon D80.
awmphoto.smugmug.com

Comments

• Options
    bobcoolbobcool Registered Users Posts: 271 Major grins
    edited April 18, 2007
    I just shot a varsity baseball game last week and posted some pics yesterday. See http://www.digitalgrin.com/showthread.php?t=59217 for some samples of what you get for your money for a Nikkor 70-300mm F4-5.6 D. The lens won't take pics that make the cover of Sports Illustrated, but they will help you take good pics to hone your craft while you save up for a longer 2.8 lens.

Oh, and I paid only $179 for this lens, and I have a D80 as well. Good luck!
  • Options
    JESTERJESTER Registered Users Posts: 369 Major grins
    edited April 18, 2007
    First off, I would go for the zoom since you will be in the dugout and taking photos of players in the field. I have both the 300 2.8 and 70-200 f2.8. I use the 70-200 most of the time. Both are very fast focusing which you need for action sports.

Secondly, you can get a 80-200 at BHPhoto for around $870 new. The 70-200 f2.8 AFS VR will run you about twice that ($1,589) but it is a very sweet lens. You might be able to find something to better fit your budget if you check out Ebay or something used.

Hopes this helps answer your question.
  • Options
    VMacVMac Registered Users Posts: 68 Big grins
    edited April 18, 2007