Options

Portland audubon are going to publish photo

ericgtrericgtr Registered Users Posts: 105 Major grins
edited May 2, 2007 in People
I grabbed this shot over the weekend, originally intending to capture just the bird which was held by the handler but there were so many people around it I had to grab a few with others in it. They asked me to send some in so I did and they asked me if they could use this one on their site and in a publication.

The problem is that I don't know these people and didn't get a model release so I am not sure how it will work out.

147995022-M.jpg

Comments

• Options
    GREAPERGREAPER Registered Users Posts: 3,113 Major grins
    edited April 30, 2007
    If they are using it for editorial purposes in a story about the program you took the shots in, a release may not be required. Make sure that they are notified that you do NOT have a release. That does not mean they cannot use it (I've heard).

Of course I am not a lawyer, so asking one might not be a bad idea.
  • Options
    Scott_QuierScott_Quier Registered Users Posts: 6,524 Major grins
    edited May 1, 2007
    Congratulations on the recognition! That's great! I hope it works out for you.

I am, also, not a laywer but my understanding meshes with GREAPER. Let them know that you don't have the release. At that point, if one is required, it is on them to make sure that one is obtained. They may come back to you asking for one. And, like you say, that could DNQ the entire proposition.

However there may be loop-holes that they can work to advantage. I just don't know the law so I don't know....
  • Options
    mmrodenmmroden Registered Users Posts: 472 Major grins
    edited May 1, 2007
    congrats on the capture!

Do you need a release if it's for editorial/reporting purposes? And why would you need a release if they're in public anyway? I thought the rule was, if you don't want to be photographed, don't be in public.
  • Options