Options

Yes, another self portrait....

ShannonHeatShannonHeat Registered Users Posts: 222 Major grins
edited May 19, 2007 in People
Okay all,
This is my very first attempt at a self portrait. It is a closeup, and I'm a little nervouse about posting it. I'd love to have c&c.

1)Karate010copy.jpg

Karate009.jpg
Shannon :D
Canon Digital Rebel XTI, 430ex, sigma 24-70 f2.8 macro, a crummy kit lens, 4gb cf, and tons of batteries.
www.heatonphotography.net
http://picasaweb.google.com/heatonphotography
www.myspace.com/heatonphotography

Comments

• Options
    SenecaSeneca Registered Users Posts: 1,661 Major grins
    edited May 17, 2007
    The first one is better than the second one. The second one is a little unfocus around the left eye (well my left).

Other than that I think it's good.
  • Options
    edited May 18, 2007
    I appreciate your response :D. It has been a task getting anyone to respond to threads :cry. You are absolutely correct, looking at the second one, I see that eye slightly out of focus.
    Seneca wrote:
    The first one is better than the second one. The second one is a little unfocus around the left eye (well my left).

Other than that I think it's good.
    Canon Digital Rebel XTI, 430ex, sigma 24-70 f2.8 macro, a crummy kit lens, 4gb cf, and tons of batteries.
  • Options
    urbanariesurbanaries Registered Users Posts: 2,690 Major grins
    edited May 18, 2007
    Shannon, you have such lovely features, I wouldn't worry at all about the close up factor, and I personally love tightly composed portraits.

I prefer the composition and expression of the 2nd one, it's quite nice! thumb.gif

The first appears to be taken with a wide angle lens and it seems to be distorting the top and bottom of the photo. Generally, lenses over 50mm are recommended for a more natural point of view, and looking at the camera in a slight angle like #2 makes a world of difference.

Kudos to you for your courage...i've yet to show my face close up around here! :D