Options

Hockey Shotz

MissConductMissConduct Registered Users Posts: 11 Big grins
edited February 4, 2005 in Sports
Thank you thank you thank you.. I love this site!

Tonight armed with a Digital Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ1PP. I will try and take shots of my husband playing goal.

A little about me: I am 30yrs old. I play hockey (women's league/men's pickup) I love digital photography but am I complete NooB! I know nothing about how to set my camera up and use it in an arena.. until I came here. Very insightful. Thanks.

One question: Anyone here have any suggestions for tonight?

Here is a little camera info:

2.0 MP
Lens: optical 12xzoom, f=4.6-55.2mm/f2.8
Digital zoom- single 3x, burst: 2x
shutter: electronic + mechanical shutter
Burst recording: 4fps max 7 fps
ISO: auto, 50/100/200/400
shutter speed: 8- 1/2,000
motion image mode 1/30 - 1/2,000

or read here

TIA

MC
Face Down, Nobody Is Ugly

Comments

• Options
    Steve CaviglianoSteve Cavigliano Super Moderators Posts: 3,599 moderator
    edited February 1, 2005
    Welcome Miss C!!
    wave.gif

I hope you enjoy this site. There are lots of very knowledgable and very friendly folks here :D

Have fun tonight and please do not expect too much :uhoh Reading up on your camera, I don't even think you can adjust your exposure settings. It looks like Auto and Program only. So I'm not so sure how it will do tonight. FWIW, most digitals (non-Dslr's) are not the right tool for this task. Sort of like using a hammer to drive in a screw. It can be done, but the results aren't usually the most elegant of solutions rolleyes1.gif

If you could set up your cam for this type of shooting, you'd most likely be looking at using the widest aperture (lowest F number) and a speed as high as you could get without seriously under exposing, using ISO400. Depending on how well lit the rink is (well lit being relative). At a Pro rink you should be able to get 1/320-1/400 speeds at ISO400. Maybe even better.