Options

Working an Event

ripwildripwild Registered Users Posts: 2 Beginner grinner
edited June 6, 2007 in Mind Your Own Business
A lurker finally makes his first post!

I have a question about handling an event so as to keep images lined up with the people. Let me explain a bit further.

I'm just getting started and wish to do children and family photography. I had an event come up with a dance studio that my girls attend. This was a small mother/daughter event and the owner knew I was getting things up and running so she asked me to come take seated portraits of the mother/daughters that she would provide as part of their event price. We agreed that I would do this for a nominal fee that basically covers processing and photo folders. Trying to build the portfolio so I don't want to start charging a lot at this point until I have a gallery that supports my work. Things went well with setup - had my back drop, lights, etc, etc.

I had asked for a list of the attendees to this event so that I could check them off as they came for their portrait... my thinking was that as the first people came up, I would ask their name and put a number 1 by their name. Second couple, ask name, put a number 2 by their name. They didn't have a list for me, so I just started by writing down last names in order. Well, when I got home and offloaded the images -- you guessed it.... I had more images of mother/daughters then I had names. I must have gotten distracted when a few people were in line waiting! grrrr.... So, now I have no clue which mom goes with which name so that the owner can send the photos out to the people that came to the event. She's probably going to be fine by having some people help her identify the moms since most have children already enrolled at the studio.

I'm getting to my questions.....