Options

how can I legally sell my vintage (70s) rock photos

Deb-KCDeb-KC Registered Users Posts: 4 Beginner grinner
edited July 10, 2007 in Mind Your Own Business
I posted this earlier at the bottom of a long thread and got no response.
I've been scouring the web for hints and accurate info on this, and would appreciate some guidance.

I have a substantial collection of good and some great concert slides from roughly 1972 up to the early 80s. I sold a handful of shots back then, basically for cost and a print for myself.

I worked as a go-fer for various promoters and had great access. Cameras were a non-issue back then, and all of the points you made don't seem to apply (ticket stub, express statements that prohibited merchandising, etc.)

Is it even conceivable for me to get permission to reproduce any of these images for sale? Would I have to contact each and every band/artist and even then would they turn me down without consideration?

I finally have an avenue to print and sell some of this work and am disappointed that doing this would put me outside the law.

I recognize all of your points about artists and their being exploited, but just because there is a band up there with nice lights, there is still an art to capturing an image, and I don't think it fair that I can't try to generate a small income from this labor of love and piece of history.

I'd be thrilled if you could give me some information or pointers on a way to get permission/arrange to pay percentage/whatever — a way to be legal.

Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    RogersDARogersDA Registered Users Posts: 3,502 Major grins
    edited July 10, 2007
    I am not an attorney, and you should always consult one for the best infomation. Your situation may have specific issues that are unknown.

If anything below is incorrect then please let me know. I want to be sure the right information is provided.