Digital upgrades -- or update my firmware!

ian408ian408 More wag. Less Bark.Posts: 21,317Administrators moderator
edited January 14, 2004 in Cameras
Many new to the digital domain aren't aware the camera just purchased
is probably out of date with respect to the software installed in the camera.

Canon makes firmware upgrades available on their web site as do Nikon
and Olympus.

Take a moment to visit your camera mfg's web site and download the latest
and greatest firmware.

All you 10d owners should be running 2.x (as should the S400 and S50 folks
too!).

Canon and Nikon have you load the firmware onto an empty CF card, boot
the camera and follow the directions. What could be easier? If you don't have
a CF reader, you'll need to download the tools to install via USB ports.

Don't forget the software that came with your camera probably has an
upgrade available too.

Ian
Moderator Journeys/Sports/Big Picture :: Need some help with dgrin?

Comments

  • wxwaxwxwax Immoderator Posts: 15,471Registered Users Major grins
    edited January 12, 2004
    Excellent suggestion, Ian. There been any for the G3 in the last year?
    Sid.
    Catapultam habeo. Nisi pecuniam omnem mihi dabis, ad caput tuum saxum immane mittam
    http://www.mcneel.com/users/jb/foghorn/ill_shut_up.au
  • DeaconDeacon Major grins Posts: 239Registered Users Major grins
    edited January 12, 2004
    Camera Upgrades
    Nikon users, the D series cameras have to be sent to Nikon for the firmware upgrade...

    Deacon

    ps, anyone done this yet, I am about ready to send the D1x in for the upgrade. Most notable is the increase in fps, buffer capacity/speed and the ability to use the upgraged cf cards.
  • ian408ian408 More wag. Less Bark. Posts: 21,317Administrators moderator
    edited January 12, 2004
    wxwax wrote:
    Excellent suggestion, Ian. There been any for the G3 in the last year?
    Yup!

    http://www.powershot.com/powershot2/customer/firmware.html

    I didn't know the D series wasn't user serviceable? That seems just
    wrong to be without the camera. Unless they're replacing hardware
    as well.

    Ian
    Moderator Journeys/Sports/Big Picture :: Need some help with dgrin?
  • wxwaxwxwax Immoderator Posts: 15,471Registered Users Major grins
    edited January 12, 2004
    ian408 wrote:

    thumb.gif I assume they stop the firmware upgrades as soon as they advance to a new generation of a particular model?
    Sid.
    Catapultam habeo. Nisi pecuniam omnem mihi dabis, ad caput tuum saxum immane mittam
    http://www.mcneel.com/users/jb/foghorn/ill_shut_up.au
  • wxwaxwxwax Immoderator Posts: 15,471Registered Users Major grins
    edited January 13, 2004
    So I looked at the firmware upgrade for my G3. It contains two fixes: one for balky connections to some computers; and one for problems with the 380EX flash. Neither glitch affects me.

    My first instinct is to not do the firmware upgrade, since the camera's working fine. If it ain't broke, don't fix it, I'm thinking.

    Is that thinking flawed, d'you suppose? eek7.gif
    Sid.
    Catapultam habeo. Nisi pecuniam omnem mihi dabis, ad caput tuum saxum immane mittam
    http://www.mcneel.com/users/jb/foghorn/ill_shut_up.au
  • ian408ian408 More wag. Less Bark. Posts: 21,317Administrators moderator
    edited January 14, 2004
    wxwax wrote:
    So I looked at the firmware upgrade for my G3. It contains two fixes: one for balky connections to some computers; and one for problems with the 380EX flash. Neither glitch affects me.

    My first instinct is to not do the firmware upgrade, since the camera's working fine. If it ain't broke, don't fix it, I'm thinking.

    Is that thinking flawed, d'you suppose? eek7.gif
    Nope. Not at all. But like all software vendors, you get some fixes and
    some undocumented improvements (and the flip side is that something
    could stop working).

    Ian
    Moderator Journeys/Sports/Big Picture :: Need some help with dgrin?
  • patch29patch29 C|34N3R Atlanta, GAPosts: 2,928Registered Users, Retired Mod Major grins
    edited January 14, 2004
    ian408 wrote:
    Nope. Not at all. But like all software vendors, you get some fixes and
    some undocumented improvements (and the flip side is that something
    could stop working).

    Ian

    I agree with Ian, there may be a couple things you do not know about. The G3 has been out long enough that I would think the firmware update would be fine, any problems would have been pointed out by now. I upgraded my camera with no problems.
Sign In or Register to comment.