Options

I think I like my new 85

~Jan~~Jan~ Registered Users Posts: 966 Major grins
edited July 28, 2007 in People
I went for the 85 mm 1.8, thinking I'd get the 35 mm closer to winter.

Here's a 100% crop. Pretty darned sharp for 100%, if you ask me! I was at least 3 feet away from this flower.

177618230-S.jpg

Edited to add that I KNOW it's not a person LOL but I wanted to share my first 85 mm shot here since this is where I discussed getting it! (This is the lens I chose for my group/family portraits...we'll see how it works!)

Comments

• Options
    jeffreaux2jeffreaux2 Registered Users Posts: 4,762 Major grins
    edited July 27, 2007
    Good example!! It isn'e a people, but you are a people person so we understand. I bought the same lens about 3 or 4 weeks ago and got it just in time for some bridal portraits. I am still learning how and when to use it. My estimate is that it will be THE lens to use for most child portraits. It has also proven to be very useful for head and shoulder shots, and 3/4 length shots on adults. I am still a bit more likely to use the 50mm or 28-75 for full length adults and definately on groups. The 85 is my sharpest lens, which is saying a lot. The 50mm is stunning at F3.0 and smaller, but the Bokeh is not nearly as buttery as the 85mm. I think you made a good choice. My only problem is that I am having to back up....then back up again, and sometimes even more to frame my photos. It is really supposed to shine at indoor sports, and I plan to prove this either right or wrong when the high school basketball season begins.

Congrats!, and happy shooting!!!
  • Options
    ShepsMomShepsMom Registered Users Posts: 4,319 Major grins
    edited July 27, 2007
    Woohooo Jan!! Congrats on new toy, now you can show us what you've got! I've been looking at 85 as well, but also 50. Don't know which way to go. What was you decision based on in choosing 85?
    Marina
    www.intruecolors.com
    Nikon D700 x2/D300