Options

Anyone work full time and do portraits?

~Jan~~Jan~ Registered Users Posts: 966 Major grins
edited August 3, 2007 in Mind Your Own Business
I am a teacher, and this summer I started doing some portraits first for friends and family, and then for a few other people via word of mouth. I've been doing 2-3 sessions a week. This is perfectly doable for me, as I feel no guilt aobut leaving my son with his dad (my husband) for a couple of hours 3 days a week since I'm home all day w/ him, and then I do the editing while the both sleep or during my son's naptime.

However, when I start teaching in (sob) 2 weeks, my life will change. I am not as willing to give up time w/ my little guy, and then there's the editing factor. But if I want to ever do this full-time (which I'd love to at some point), I need to keep the ball rolling, KWIM.

Anyone in the same boat, and if so, how many sessions a week do you do? I was thinking 2...I would give up one evening and one weekend morning...

Comments

• Options
    AngeloAngelo Super Moderators Posts: 8,937 moderator
    edited August 3, 2007
  • Options
    edited August 3, 2007
    Angelo wrote:
    How old is your little guy?

He's 3.
  • Options
    mattmccmattmcc Registered Users Posts: 55 Big grins
    edited August 3, 2007
    ~Jan~ wrote:
    I am a teacher, and this summer I started doing some portraits first for friends and family, and then for a few other people via word of mouth. I've been doing 2-3 sessions a week. This is perfectly doable for me, as I feel no guilt aobut leaving my son with his dad (my husband) for a couple of hours 3 days a week since I'm home all day w/ him, and then I do the editing while the both sleep or during my son's naptime.