Options

Puerto Ayora (Galapagos Islands) - playing at photojournalism

lavidaporteñalavidaporteña Registered Users Posts: 4 Beginner grinner
edited August 9, 2007 in Journeys
I'm a beginner at this photography game. I took a photojournalism class at college last year and when I was in the Galapagos Islands I had the opportunity to photograph an interesting altercation between the fishermen and the Galapagos National Park officials. Please, please give me criticism/feedback/compliments where due (I need a little ego boosting!). Also, these have not been fiddled with in any way because I'm not too great at adjusting color photos in photoshop yet....It was getting dark, and I didn't want to use my flash in the later pictures because of the touchy situation.

I was walking along the main street in Puerto Ayora, the largest town in the Galapagos Islands, on Santa Cruz Island, when I came upon these mangroves filled with pelicans and charming blue fishing boats.
DSC02864.jpg

There was a little dock with several boats tied up, and guys getting ready to go out. Also, a blue heron about one foot away from me, completely unconcerned about my presence. I'm amused that it seems to be looking at the guy's butt.

DSC02863.jpg

Up close with a pelican.

DSC02867.jpg
Sally lightfoot crab.
DSC02870.jpg

The fishing "fleet" seen from a nearby dock...all very peaceful.
DSC02873.jpg

So, I wandered around town and on my walk back to the hotel came upon the same scene, only not quite so charming and peaceful this time. The fishermen had returned, and there was quite a crowd gathered in the little covered dock/fish cleaning area.
DSC02883.jpg