Options

Yonkers Power Station

pjb923pjb923 Registered Users Posts: 87 Big grins
edited September 5, 2007 in Other Cool Shots
I am just learning to love shooting in abandoned spaces and I have a feeling this one is going to be very hard to top. The Yonkers Power Station, sometimes referred to as the Glenwood Power Station was built in conjunction with Grand Central Station to provide power to the railway. It was shut down in the 1960's and has been abandoned ever since. Recently there have been proposals to turn the plant into apartment buildings so this may have been one of my last chances to shoot in this space.

Set right on the Hudson river this is a tremendous building and make for some amazing pictures. Getting in was fairly easy as there had obviously been many many people here before us. This time we were ready for the dark conditions and lugged our tripods with us.

This was an amazing day of shooting, my first "real" ruin. Just navigating the space was a challenge, but much of the work was done ahead of time. Missing sections of stairways covered with metal grates, makeshift ladders and ramps all over the place. With all the catwalks and stairways and ladders, I felt as if I was transported into a video game and was thinking to myself, this would make a great Halo 3 level. :D

191172304-S.jpg

D200, Sigma 10-20mm @10mm, F11.0 1.5s, ISO 100
The first of 3 buildings was full of large expansive rooms which were pretty much empty.

191184113-S.jpg

D200, Sigma 10-20mm @10mm, F22.0 2s, ISO 100
Wide view of the massive central building.

191178547-S.jpg

D200, Sigma 10-20mm @11mm, F5.0 1.1s, ISO 100
Looking up at what appears to have been the main control room.

191183403-S.jpg

D200, Sigma 10-20mm @10mm, F11.0 6s, ISO 100
Making are way up, we eventually reached the main control panel.

191176060-S.jpg

D200, Sigma 17-70mm @17mm, F5.0 1/30th, ISO 100
One of the many arched windows.

191175034-S.jpg

D200, Sigma 17-70mm @70mm, F5.6 .5s, ISO 100