Options

Help with shooting a partially floodlit building

henchcliffehenchcliffe Registered Users Posts: 20 Big grins
edited September 7, 2007 in Other Cool Shots
Hi,
I want to re-shoot this picture, maybe at a wider angle (stepping back isn't an option because it's at the end of a pier).
One of the things that's bothering me about this picture is the floodlit areas, not only are they way bright but they also completely flatten the texture. I tried some dodging in PS but, of course, that didn't help the loss of texture on the building.
I'm a PS novice, so if there's some other technique I could employ, let me know. Also, if if there is something I should try in the field for when I'm back at this location that would be most helpful too.

Thanks in advance.

182727981-L.jpg

Comments

• Options
    pathfinderpathfinder Super Moderators Posts: 14,697 moderator
    edited August 31, 2007
    You might try shooting a few minutes earlier in twilight, when the tungsten lighting will have a much lower contrast ratio with the ambient lighting.

The timeing will be important, as you will probably have only few minutes of time as a window when the ambient vs tungsten is what you need.

The other alternative would be to add flash to the dark areas, but that would be more challenging to pull off.
    Pathfinder - www.pathfinder.smugmug.com

Moderator of the Technique Forum and Finishing School on Dgrin
  • Options
    edited August 31, 2007
    Thanks for the much appreciated advice.

I wasn't really paying attention to losing the twilight as I was busy shooting the bridge and ferry building in the area and my back was against this building most of the time; I turned around and liked the lighting for the most part but once I uploaded them was disappointed with the floodlit areas.