Options

Shooting film?

pseudonympseudonym Registered Users Posts: 49 Big grins
edited May 5, 2005 in The Big Picture
I do hope film is not a taboo subject here otherwise I could be in strife :uhoh

Just wondering how effective people have found converting from film to digital photography. I ask mainly because I am keen to start taking better (read: more artistic) pictures and since I am a poor student I figure maybe the best way could be to get a cheap 35mm SLR off ebay (Nikkon F65's are going for about 160-80AUD, hell I even saw an EOS 5 for $500) and start to learn all about handling a camera manually (as opposed to the pre-programmed or auto modes available to me with my current gear).

I think ultimately a DSLR will make shooting the sorts of things I like easier (more convenient) but I am in no position to afford and nor will I be for a good few years yet, an ebay job I could save for in a few months though.

Just wonder what someone with some experience of both sides of the fence rekons.

Colin

Comments

• Options
    luckyrweluckyrwe Registered Users Posts: 952 Major grins
    edited February 22, 2005
    I still have several film cameras and always will. My digital is worthless without a computer, CD burner, Photo software, blank CDs, a way to dump the memory cards, and a way to charge the battery.

With a Nikon FM and 100 rolls of film I can go to the jungles of Thailand and make it out with 3600 pictures in 30 days. Try that with digital.

On the other hand if you have guaranteed access to electricity, computers, storage methods, and other necessities due to the digital age, you're probably okay.