Options

Gymnastics: I'm A Sports Photographer Now?

Hikin' MikeHikin' Mike Registered Users Posts: 5,462 Major grins
edited September 21, 2007 in Sports
First post on this section. I'm a landscape/nature photographer....but I have two little girls. Here's a few snapshots of my daughter's gymnastic tournament Sunday. Shot with Canon 300D, 70-200 f/4L, ISO 1600, 1/60 - 1/125 sec, f/4. We have another tournament this weekend and hopefully I get my new 5D on Friday!

CRW_4751_post.jpg

CRW_4784_post.jpg

CRW_4824_post.jpg

CRW_4830_post.jpg

CRW_4833_post.jpg

CRW_4835_post.jpg

Comments

• Options
    CuongCuong Registered Users Posts: 1,508 Major grins
    edited September 18, 2007
    Mike, nice effort. Gymnastics competition is very challenging to shoot because the indoor lighting is lousy, you can't use flash, and they don't let you move around much. You need fast and long lenses and high ISO. I've found even shutter speed of 1/250 is still not enough to stop the action. My suggestion is to bump up the ISO (try 3200) on your 5D to get even faster shutter speed since your largest aperture is f/4. Also use custom white balance so you don't get color cast from the gym lighting. Good luck with the season.

Cuong
    "She Was a Little Taste of Heaven – And a One-Way Ticket to Hell!" - Max Phillips
  • Options
    yukio wrote:
    Mike, nice effort. Gymnastics competition is very challenging to shoot because the indoor lighting is lousy, you can't use flash, and they don't let you move around much. You need fast and long lenses and high ISO. I've found even shutter speed of 1/250 is still not enough to stop the action. My suggestion is to bump up the ISO (try 3200) on your 5D to get even faster shutter speed since your largest aperture is f/4. Also use custom white balance so you don't get color cast from the gym lighting. Good luck with the season.

Cuong