Toys, wonderful toys!

TugrikTugrik Registered Users Posts: 8 Beginner grinner
edited January 15, 2004 in Accessories
Greetings! I'm a casual photographer who now and then gets collared into doing large-scale portrait work (think 'school portrait' style environments, with long lines of waiting folks). I moved from 35mm systems to digital back during the release of the Canon D30.

One of my nastier personality streaks is the urge to accessories and build out infrastructure. As a result I'm one of those guys who lugs around pelican-cases full of filters, cables, adapters and brackets, just in case one of the various bits and pieces might come in handy on that shoot.

The most commonly used accessory group for me has been flashes: I've got a pair of 550EX's and two 420EX's that I mount on lighstands with 'brollys and trigger with an ST-E2. Yes, I was one of the ones bitten terribly by the 10D's ST-E2 firmware bug. Both grumbles and kudos to canon for having and then fixing the problem! I also have a love for macro works, though I'm still building out a proper rail and lighting kit for that. The third moneysink is astrophotography; something I've dipped into and out of over the last few years. I fear how much one can spend for night-sky shooting if one isn't careful.

Baldy asked me here 'cause he knows of my acessorizing and completionist streaks. I've played with a lot of the side-accessories for the Canon systems and am familiar with many others. With some time and contributions this forum should hopefully turn into a good place to ask about new toys as they show up or to get a helpful answer on existing tools that you might need for any given shoot.

So... what kinds of things are on your wishlists? Currently I've got on order a proper rain cover for the 10D as I'm after some good storm photography. Being able to take the camera anywhere and everywhere is a goal of mine.

Comments

• MarcMarc Registered Users Posts: 37 Big grins
    edited January 14, 2004