Options

Family Photo Restoration Fun

dlibrachdlibrach Registered Users Posts: 232 Major grins
edited September 25, 2007 in Other Cool Shots
My father emailed me a scanned photo of his father's family (my grandfather) and asked if there was anything I could do to fix the top-left corner. Had a look at it and decided that it deserved a bit more attention. We don't know when it was taken or who exactly everyone is as my grandfater passed away 25+ years ago.

It took me a while and I've never tried to restore an old photo before, but I think it worked out quite well.

Many people complain that modern technology and photoshop are destroying photography. However, it can also help preserve and restore memories that would otherwise have been lost.

Cheers,
D

Here's the original. My grandfather is the little boy with the scarf around his neck:
199858738-L.jpg

And this is my attempt at retouching:
199870100-L.jpg

Comments

• Options
    RhuarcRhuarc Registered Users Posts: 1,464 Major grins
    edited September 24, 2007
    Nice job! I'm really impressed with the clone job in the upper right hand corner. That's a pretty clean add on!
  • Options
    Thanks Rhuarc. Are you referring to the top-left of the photo where it was torn? After seeing it here, decided it could use a bit more touch-up.

Edit: Updated photo above.
  • Options
    GreensquaredGreensquared Registered Users Posts: 2,115 Major grins
    Wow, you should be really proud of that! I'm no expert, but it looks really well done to me!
    Emily
    Psalm 62:5-6

• Options
    rusticrustic Registered Users Posts: 199 Major grins
    Wow, you should be really proud of that! I'm no expert, but it looks really well done to me!
    15524779-Ti.gif Very nice, I'm sure many members of your family will appreciate this!
  • Options