Wisconsin: Vampire Valley & Dr. Evermors twisted playground

rokklymrokklym Registered Users Posts: 77 Big grins
edited September 30, 2007 in Journeys
Hi all,
First post here!! I love photography, but I'm a total noob. Here is a post that I put up on advrider.com.

164003201-L.jpg

A few weeks ago I was looking at ride reports here on advrider and I ran across Klasjm’s excellent report on Wisconsin. His pics were amazing and I was curious to see what kind of camera he was using so I took a look through his smugmug account. Well, I found the answer and I also found some very interesting pics from a place in Baraboo Wisconsin called Dr. Evermors. I have been to Baraboo hundreds of times over the years and had never heard of this place so I knew I had to see it! Later that day, I told my girlfriend ( Kathy ) about what I found and she said that there was a write up about that place in a book we had recently bought called Weird Wisconsin.

WisconsinCover.jpg

http://www.weird-wisconsin.com

We bought this book in hopes of finding interesting places to visit on bike trips and now we had a great idea for a ride. Jump forward a week and and I was up in Northern Wisconsin at the Ride for Research and was fortunate enough to talk to Klasjm ( Jim ) and he confirmed that Dr. Evermors was an interesting place to visit.
Last Saturday we woke to gloomy skies and an iffy weather forecast but decided to risk it. We headed east on my Honda VFR towards Baraboo but I had some ideas of things to see before we got to our destination.

County road V outside Hillsboro is a shortcut, if you choose less miles and more time as being a shortcut! This is a fun road to ride but its Amish country so you have to keep an eye out for buggies and Horse poo. I came around a corner and saw this neat abandoned house.
164002656-L.jpg

164002644-L.jpg
164002628-L.jpg

164002858-L.jpg

I love these old houses and it was a perfect start to an interesting day.
www.lonewolfstudios.us