Options

Question about sensors used in digi cams

DeeDee Registered Users Posts: 2,981 Major grins
edited February 26, 2005 in Cameras
I'm just back from the Monterey Bay Aquarium where my Sony f828 struggled in the dim and dimmer light to capture images for me.

I'm not very technical minded, but I do know a CMOS would be less noisy than the CCD.

Among the digital cameras that use the less noisy sensor, are the images from manufacturer to manufacturer the same (using the same sensor) or different, and if different how...

What I'm trying to ask is if Nikon and Canon use the same sensor, other than manufacturer loyalty or feature set, what is the digital image difference?

Thanks! Remember, make it easy to understand please :):

Comments

• Options
    bkrietebkriete Registered Users Posts: 168 Major grins
    edited February 25, 2005
    Canon is the only company using CMOS chips (I think). Nikon uses CCD sensors. I think what you might be talking about is a sensor size issue. The smaller a sensor gets, and the smaller the pixel-sensor sites are, the more likely they are to be affected by basically a tiny random event. The reason a 6.3 megapixel Canon has less noise than a 6 megapixel consumer camera is because the sensor, and hence the pixel sites, are much larger.
  • Options
    Nee7x7Nee7x7 Registered Users Posts: 459 Major grins
    edited February 25, 2005
    Dee wrote:
    I'm just back from the Monterey Bay Aquarium where my Sony f828 struggled in the dim and dimmer light to capture images for me.

What I'm trying to ask is if Nikon and Canon use the same sensor, other than manufacturer loyalty or feature set, what is the digital image difference?

Oh, you lil' stinker! I've been wanting to go to the Monterey Bay Aquarium for ages, Laughing.gif! But you know, I've had the same issues with my 828 in low light (sigh). Sure miss my 717 in that respect... :cry