Options

Good starter tripod

bkrietebkriete Registered Users Posts: 168 Major grins
edited February 27, 2005 in Accessories
I have been using a Canon Digital Rebel for a few months now, and have been trying to figure out what the most needed accessories for me will be. I've decided that I definitely need a tripod for lower-light shooting and panoramas.

My criteria:
Portability (weight is less important than how compact it folds)
Ease of use (prefer a quick-release of some sort)
Price (I'd like to spend around $100)

My intended use:
Low-light/night shooting
Landscapes (for panoramas, mostly)

I won't be using it for sports or action photography, or much "nature" photography of the type that involves huge, heavy zooms.

I've been considering the Velbon MAXi 343E. Anyone have opinions or feedback on this tripod?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions or advice. Ben

Comments

• Options
    BridgeCityBridgeCity Registered Users Posts: 338 Major grins
    edited February 22, 2005
    I got my DRebel for X-mas and I just bought this one.

http://www.wolfcamera.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay?storeId=10101&catalogId=10001&langId=-1&productId=13069599&bct=c1014%3Bc5849816

It's simple, sturdy, and effective. Best of all, It was 50 bucks :) And I really like the quick release system to allow you to shoot photos with or without it in a matter of seconds.
  • Options
    DoctorItDoctorIt Administrators Posts: 11,951 moderator
    edited February 22, 2005
    simple common advice: don't skimp on a tripod!

No one is going to come out with "better tripod technology" so don't waste money on a cheap flimsy one. Of all the equipment you own, a good tripod will never become outdated. Save another $100 and get a good one. You'll thank yourself. Once in the $200 range, you can't go wrong with Bogen-Manfrotto stuff.
    Erik
    moderator of: The Flea Market [ guidelines ]

• Options
    fishfish Registered Users Posts: 2,950 Major grins
    edited February 22, 2005