Options

Question for the Nikon D40 owners

nickatnitenickatnite Registered Users Posts: 51 Big grins
edited November 26, 2007 in Cameras
Or all of the Nikon owners.

I'm 99% decided on the Nikon D40. I don't see any need for a DSLR over 6.1 right now, being that I am still a beginner/amatuer. I'm planning on keeping this for at least 2 years anyway.

How many of you have had any troubles with your D40? I've been looking at them for about a month now and ready to buy. I've found several good buys on them from Amazon and such, but I also keep going back to B & H photo.

I've got 3 main questions.

1) When you bought your D40, did you just buy the kit 18mm-55 mm lens, the 18mm-135mm kit or just the body.

2) If you bought the lens kit, did you have any regrets in NOT buying the dual kit ( 18-55mm and 55-200mm )?

If you had the chance to do it over, would you buy the same kit or dual kit?

Example from B & H:

Dual Lens kit D 40

Single lens kit

Thanks,

Nick

Comments

• Options
    kelsowkelsow Registered Users Posts: 98 Big grins
    edited November 21, 2007
    I am looking at this exact same system and I have learned that the "kit" lens
    is a very good lens but the thing to remember with the 55-200 is to get the
    VR version. This is also a very good lens. If you can afford the 18-200 VR
    do it, see here, http://www.kenrockwell.com/nikon/18200.htm

You can read all about this camera here, http://www.kenrockwell.com/nikon/d40/users-guide/index.htm
    http://www.kenrockwell.com/nikon/d40.htm

Good reading here as well, http://www.kenrockwell.com/tech/nikon-vs-canon.htm

Good luck and let me know where you bought it if you don't mind.
  • Options
    jonh68jonh68 Registered Users Posts: 2,711 Major grins
    edited November 21, 2007
    Now you've done it. Brought up Ken Rockwell and his reviews. Let the flames begin.