Options

Noob new camera purchase questions in jump from P&S to DSLR

Jay BirdJay Bird Registered Users Posts: 13 Big grins
edited December 13, 2007 in Cameras
Hello,
I've been a long time lurker here and I have come out of the closet to delurk and ask the requisite beginner noob questions.

First of all my background.
I am a hobbyist photographer who started out with film back in the days of instamatics and flash cubes, wow I am old aren't I, anyway moved through a few film cameras had a Pentax K1000 setup with a few different lenses and then found the digital point and shoot world. My point and shoot an Olympus C-50 Zoom has served me well and it has produced some nice shoots from some nice places, and I will always have a P&S in my stable but I feel that I have outgrown it's capabilities in many ways so it is time to step into the world of DSLR.

What I take pictures of is a range from the candid family and friends party pics indoors and outdoors, outdoor scenes and nature stuff, the dogs, and some action shots in my playing around with motorcycles and boats. Of coarse Smugmug has made me a bit of the family and friends hero because I am able to share my photos with them as never before so I feel the pressure not to disappoint.

So as always budget is the constraining factor in my purchase and it seems as though I have narrowed my list down to the Canon EOS 350D / Rebel XT or the Pentax K100D Super the megapixels seem about right since I probably don't need to print over 8x10 and the feature sets on both seem to suit my entry level status and of coarse the price points suit my budget. In addition I have held both cameras and they both have good ergonomics for my oversize mit.

Some additional background is that I looked at the Nikon D40 and ruled it out based on ergonomics. Also I need to purchase new because I am using some gift cards.