Magazine publication questions

schmooschmoo Registered Users Posts: 8,468 Major grins
edited December 4, 2007 in Mind Your Own Business
I woke up this morning to an email from an international lifestyle magazine that wants to use my photos in an upcoming issue. :barb

Now that my initial excitement has passed, I've read it in more depth and am starting to worry about covering myself and making sure I don't screw up somewhere down the line. I have a few questions:

1. They said they will credit me and provide contact info and website URL if I provide it, which is good. What other questions are customary to ask to make sure that all rights remain with me and that I'm covered, even if it's years in the future? Or is that just paranoia on my part? Do I need to get more specific in my questions with them?

2. From the wording I'm assuming that the only compensation I'd be given would be the publicity. Since I am just a hobbyist and never took any of my shots expecting fat rewards, I am OK with this right now. However would working for free (so to speak) set a bad precedent with any other possible opportunities in the future? I have heard a few but varying opinions on this topic....

3. They claim to need very high res copies of my photos for them to look good in print: 23 x 32 cm at 300 dpi. First of all, I am not even sure how to calculate from the number of pixels/side if my original files are that large. Second of all... is this standard? Of course I am a little nervous sending unwatermarked high res originals to a stranger, but I have also never worked with print media before. Help? Advice? Warnings? :dunno

Thanks and I welcome any input at all about the matter from you pros!

Comments

• Ann McRaeAnn McRae Registered Users Posts: 4,584 Major grins
    edited December 4, 2007
    Hi Stephanie

You could take the licencing agreement that is on digital downloads as a starting place for getting some wording in place. There is some info here too.