Options

Sigma 120-300mm 2.8 or Sigma 300mm 2.8 which one to buy?

jwsmjwsm Registered Users Posts: 3 Beginner grinner
edited December 18, 2007 in Sports
Hello Everyone Merry Xmas............

Canon 20D
Canon 40D
Canon 24-70mm 2.8 L
Sigma 70-200mm 2.8
Canon 1D Mark III (end of Feb)

Okay here we go; this will be long so I can provide everyone with as much info as possible. But basically I am trying to choose between the Sigma 120-300mm 2.8 and the Sigma 300mm 2.8. (Not interested in the

Canon lenses yet $$$)

About two years ago I bought my first EOS camera and that was the Canon 20D. I was a novice and interested in shooting primarily sport. I asked for advice from the wonderful people on here in regards to a

good fast lense without breaking the bank. Nearly everybody said to get the Sigma 70-200mm, which I did and it has served me extremely well and I thank you all.

I have been very lucky in regards to access to some major sporting events, festivals and concerts. This will only increase in the future. I must point out I consider myself to be still a novice and as such I am not at the stage where I am making vast amounts of money and this is fine by me at the moment. I still have a day job and look at my photography as an expensive hobby. I would love to become a pro but that’s a long way off and if it doesn't happen it will be no big deal because I have been introduced to this wonderful science called "PHOTOGRAPHY" which will be with me until the day I die!

I now realise the severe limitations I face in shooting football games with just this lense. It has been frustrating at times but I knew sooner or later I would be getting a longer lense. IT IS NOW LATER

So I have been looking very closely at the Sigma 120-300mm and until last night had my mind made up. Then I stumbled across this quote (it came from a head to head review between both lenses)