Options

a photo shoot at a rave

thenimirrathenimirra Registered Users Posts: 697 Major grins
edited January 3, 2008 in Technique
Hello all, I'm not sure if this is the right place to put this, but I need some shooting advice.

I will be shooting at a Rave on Saturday and I have no idea what to expect other than dark, dark, and more dark. What suggestions might you have for how I tackle this shoot?

I'm thinking my best external flash and a tripod for starters. I don't have any strobes...anything else I should do? Thank you!

Comments

• Options
    leaforteleaforte Registered Users Posts: 1,948 Major grins
    edited December 20, 2007
    I think their will be plenty of strobes at the rave!rolleyes1.gif
    Growing with Dgrin

• Options
    edited December 20, 2007
  • Options
    leaforteleaforte Registered Users Posts: 1,948 Major grins
    edited December 20, 2007
    I am no expert (by far), but if it was me up to that challenge, I think I would set up my tripod off to the side, use a wide angle lens, focus on a close non moving, inanimate object, something cool, and try to get the subjects dancing in the background, blurred to show the motion and energy. You have a tough project. I wish I could help with technical answers (I can't). You will also want to spend time on compositions of the DJ (he is in control of the energy), maybe motion blur on his turntables and such. Fortunately, the blur which undoubtedly will occur in many of your shots will be great for that energy vibe.
    Growing with Dgrin

• Options
    edited December 20, 2007
    those are great ideas...just your ideas made images come into my mind. I don't know exactly what to expect, save for what I've seen and heard of raves on TV and from friends, but this will definitel be a good to try some motion blur! Thank you!thumb.gif
  • Options
    SloYerRollSloYerRoll Registered Users Posts: 2,788 Major grins
    edited December 20, 2007