Options

Olympus E510 - Functional gap to D40x and XTi?

GrainbeltGrainbelt Registered Users Posts: 478 Major grins
edited January 6, 2008 in Cameras
I'm looking at purchasing my first DSLR, and the feature set of the E510 is stunning. With sensor shift IS, the two-lens kit has an IS range of 28-300mm. This is impossible to achieve in any other brand for less than $1000, new.

35mm/1.4 lens would cover the fast prime requirement. Wide zooms and macros are also available. Flashes, battery packs, etc are also widespread. As an amateur, I struggle to see how Nikon and Canon can sell at the same price point, or higher, especially given the widespread disdain for the Canon kit lenses.

Any words of wisdom here? Happy Olympus owners?

Comments

• Options
    hamsterhamster Registered Users Posts: 361 Major grins
    edited December 28, 2007
    I can't speak to the Canon or Nikon, but I have been using Olympus SLR's for 15 years. I have the E-500, the predecessor of the 510, and both the kit lenses (although I have purchased 4 more lenses since I got the E-500). The kit lenses are pretty nice. You will hear that Olympus higher ISO noise is unacceptable. I rarely shoot over ISO 400 (and don't need to), and even then it's a little too noisy. This is in part due to the size of the 4/3rds sensor.

Anyway, I'm pretty happy with Olympus and their range of lenses. I guess it all depends on what you want to shoot. I shoot a wide range of subjects (see my smugmug if you want to see some samples) and I have never wished for a different brand of camera. I recently got the Sigma 30mm f/1.4, which is the fastest lens available for Oly (i believe) and it's spectacular.

Good luck with your choice!
  • Options
    jtfrazerjtfrazer Registered Users Posts: 12 Big grins
    edited December 28, 2007
    Hi Grainbelt,