Options

Question about workflow

TunaTuna Registered Users Posts: 44 Big grins
edited January 6, 2008 in Finishing School
I'm a pretty new photographer and am just an amateur/hobbyist at best. Anyway, I just am curious what everybody's workflow is like and what people do to keep everything as simple and efficient as possible. I have CS3 and Lightroom and they don't seem to integrate all that well together from what I can see. Currently, I work with the photo in Lightroom, then export it as a PSD to the Untitled Export folder. I then open it with CS3 and work with it there and when I'm finished, I save it as a jpeg. The whole process seems very inneficient to me, but right now it's not a huge deal because I don't process enough images for it to be much of a hassle. I'd just like to know what I can do to help myself out a bit more. Any suggestions or tips are welcome.

Also, a question about Lightroom, to highjack my own thread. Is there a way to save two different sets of settings in Lightroom? I had an image that I processed as a B&W with everything the way I liked it, and then today after learning a new Photoshop technique, I wanted to try it out on that photo but in color, so I went back through and changed everything for that photo in Lightroom. Is there a way to save everything the way you want it and then sort of have a duplicate of the same image, but with different settings? Does that make sense? :scratch

Comments

• Options
    IcebearIcebear Registered Users Posts: 4,015 Major grins
    edited January 2, 2008
    I don't have enough time right now to properly respond to all the issues you raise, and especially the ones you didn't even know you raised. By the time I get back to this thread, I'm sure a lot of people will give you lots of helpful advice, but here's my quick and dirty.

You need to get a good book on Lightroom. You obviously are not getting a dime's worth out of the Library Module. Seriously. And look up "Snapshots" in the Develop module.