Options

A first timer's first lense

AimeeJAimeeJ Registered Users Posts: 17 Big grins
edited January 10, 2008 in Accessories
Hi all,

This is my very first post and I must warn everyone that I am a SUPER Newbie...I'm the stay puffed marshmellow man of all newbs. So, please excuse my novice questions. So, I've decided that my first DLSR is going to be a Nikon D40x (I know, all the canon faithful just felt a shiver go up their spines) and I was wanting to hear opinions on what is a good lense to get started with. Personally, I like this one... AF-S DX VR Nikkor 18-200 mm f/3.5-5.6G. I also know that this cost more than the camera itself...but would cover most of my needs as a newbie. So, should I just buy the body and go ahead and invest in the lense or stick with one of the lenses that comes in a bundle??

Aimee

Comments

• Options
    James SJames S Registered Users Posts: 439 Major grins
    edited January 6, 2008
    I am a Canon guy and I didn't shiver. It seems that it is pure preference. Just make sure you hold the camera before you buy it. Comfort is the most important thing. If the camera is not comfortable in your hand you will end up hating it. Lens wise it is all what you are planning on shooting. Most of the kit lens that comes with DSLRs are just starter lenses and won't get you much.

Here are the questions I think you will need to answer before you make a purchase.

Will you be shooting outdoors or indoors or both equally?
    Will you be shooting wildlife/landscapes/portraits?

That 18mm-200mm has a good range but won't do so good in low light situations becasue of the F/3.5-5.6. Your shutter speed will have to be too long to make sure you get a sharp shot.

Answer those two questions and I am sure we can assist you better. There may be more questions but I am sure the more knowlegable will post as well.
  • Options
    edited January 6, 2008