Options

Noob beginner looking for advice…

HOT DAMN!HOT DAMN! Registered Users Posts: 4 Beginner grinner
edited January 15, 2008 in Cameras
:wave

I have migrated this way via direction from my fellow riders over at a sister site called ADVrider. Outside of point and shoot cameras, I have ZERO knowledge of the art and craft called photography. I am very eager to start learning and am looking for direction on where to begin as I embark on this new hobby.

I currently have an old Nikon Coolpix 990 that I know how to power up, point, and shoot. That will change soon as I am researching the good deals to be had on a Canon EOS 20D with low actuations as a starter body.

What would one recommend to accompany this body for starters in terms of a lens, flash, and or accessories? I am very active outdoors with camping, hiking, motorcycling and also attend a lot of my nieces and nephews sporting events.

Also, any recommended books, courses, different camera body, or sites in where one can establish a solid foundation on which to build upon would be greatly appreciated.:thumb

:ear

Comments

• Options
    pathfinderpathfinder Super Moderators Posts: 14,699 moderator
    edited January 13, 2008
    Hot Damn, a fellow Hoosier!:D :D

Your profile suggests you are considering a 20D. The standard advise is to suggest deciding whether you are a Canonian or a Nikonian. That is, examine each system carefully before you decide, because you will be in that system on a semi-permanent basis.

A 20D is a fine camera that will take excellent pictures - I still own one, and my wife has one as well, so I'm not just talking here. For a newby to photography with a DSLR, I would suggest the Tamron 28-75 f2.8 Di as a very good starter lens - inexpensive, small, reasonably fast aperture, nice zoom range, and very good optical quality. That is the lens I started with on a 10D several years ago. On a 20D, it will be quite capable of nice 13 x 19 inch prints.