Options

Newbie needs advice and recommendations

davehazedavehaze Registered Users Posts: 4 Beginner grinner
edited February 23, 2008 in Finishing School
Hi, I'm new to digital processing and don't know what is the best image editing software to use...although PS CS3 seems to be a favorite there are a lot of alternatives it seems. I have a Canon 40d and I shoot in RAW and have been using DPP to touch up my pictures. From reading this forum I'm a little confused about all the different processes that are used in the workflow by different individuals......i.e. a variety of software suites to accomplish the same goal? Is it worth acquiring PS CS3 or can DPP essentially accomplish the same....probably not from what I gather and if so what are the differences? I also read that even with PS CS3 some prefer to print the final image from another software program? Is there a reason for that and would I need another program besides PS to print from?

PS CS3 is expensive and I have a small budget to work with right now so what would be the cheapest way to acquire PS? Get Photo Shop Elements and then purchase the upgrade version? Sorry for all the questions, it's rather difficult for me to understand all the options out there, thanks!

Comments

• Options
    claudermilkclaudermilk Registered Users Posts: 2,756 Major grins
    edited February 19, 2008
    PS and DPP are two different sorts of applications. PS is a pixel editor while DPP is a RAW converter. The two types can be (and nearly always are) used together, first converting from RAW then making specific edits within the image.

If the full-blown PS CS3 is out of your budget, look at Elements, PSP, or GIMP.

For RAW conversion, there are a lot of options there & each has its strngths and weaknesses. If you want to dig into trying out a bunch, look at C1, Bibble, Silkypix, DxO, Lightroom, Aperture (if you're on Mac), LightZone. There's others, but that's a good start.
  • Options