Options

Pricing for cd of 200 images?

bikingbetsbikingbets Registered Users Posts: 160 Major grins
edited February 27, 2008 in Mind Your Own Business
Good morning all:

I'm a very new newbie, just finished less than two months shooting my daughter's high school basketball season with a Canon 40D that Santa brought for me. I've never sold a photo, but I may be about to. At the end-of-season banquet, they ran a cd slideshow on a big screen of about 200 of my better (i.e. not tremendous--remember what the quality of your photos was like when you first got started) images...but you know how sports parents are when they see photos of their kids...
A parent approached me after the banquet saying that she liked the images and would like to buy the cd for scrapbooking purposes! The problem is that I have no idea what to charge. I want a friendly transaction because our daughters play on the same team, and this may lead to further business. Also, the image quality is definitely not professional.
Any help in pricing this cd would be appreciated!

Thanks,
Betsy
Canon 40D, 70-200mm f/2.8L IS, 50mm f/1.4 USM, 85mm f/1.8 USM, 24-105mm f/4L IS, EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM, EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM , 580EX ll

Comments

• Options
    nipprdognipprdog Registered Users Posts: 660 Major grins
    edited February 24, 2008
    I want a friendly transaction because our daughters play on the same team
    Also, the image quality is definitely not professional.

Simple. No charge.

You didn't start this with the intention of charging, so don't. (In this case)

A couple years ago, when I started shooting my nephew's girls B-ball team (he's the coach, and his daughter is on the team) for fun, I gave the parents CDs. (without stepping on anybody's toes)

Fast forward. Now, I'm shooting for profit. But when I shoot my nephew's team, I still give those parent's CDs. I didn't charge them initially, so I'm not going to charge them now.

Everyone else, though, pays. :D
  • Options