Options

Please help w/ contest entry

darkdragondarkdragon Registered Users Posts: 1,051 Major grins
edited February 29, 2008 in Holy Macro
Hi guys/gals. I'm pretty new to macro and so far only have closeup filter-style lenses and extention tubes.

The thing is, I'm trying to enter a local "macro" contest and these are what I've got so far (deadline is friday). No bugs around here yet to get photos of :(

Please, let me know if you like the crops on these (all at 8x10) or if you think I should nix even considering any of them. :dunno

Images are online at: http://darkdragon.smugmug.com/gallery/4330445_bjNsA

Thanks!

259727468_JNk2k-L.jpg

259727008_Y3s8M-L.jpg

259726705_iCskD-L.jpg

259726562_4UfEJ-L.jpg

PS: are these too big to put 4 in a post?
~ Lisa

Comments

• Options
    job3210job3210 Registered Users Posts: 83 Big grins
    edited February 28, 2008
    If I had to choose one. then I would go with #2,
    Hope this helps
    Glenn
  • Options
    GiphsubGiphsub Registered Users Posts: 2,662 Major grins
    edited February 28, 2008
  • Options
    nedlA kraMnedlA kraM Registered Users Posts: 47 Big grins
    edited February 28, 2008
    Yep number 2 thumb.gif
    Life only happens once....so capture it
  • Options
    DalantechDalantech Registered Users Posts: 1,519 Major grins
    edited February 28, 2008
    Meaning no disrespect: If you've got a few days left then keep shooting. I'd pick the second shot as well, but IMHO the composition is a little off and the light is the wrong temperature (not "warm enough") for a flower shot. If you're using natural light then put the flower close to a window in the early morning or late evening and use the soft light for your image. If you're using a flash then you really need to diffuse it better. The "rule of thumb" for diffusion is that the diffuser should be half as big as the distance between the flash and the subject. So if the flash is 12" from the flower then the diffuser should be at least 6" wide.