Options

Concert photographer looking for a new lens

insideoutofloveinsideoutoflove Registered Users Posts: 7 Beginner grinner
edited April 7, 2008 in Cameras
So I've been shooting for a few years now, and have gradually built up my lens collection..I'm looking to buy a fast lens for concert photography, and am considering the 50mm f/1.4 which is recommended by many. however, im also looking for something that will compliment the lenses i already have--

18-55mm (kit lens)
16-35mm f/2.8
70-300mm f/4-5.6

is there another lens you'd recommend over the 50mm? would it be more beneficial to spend that money on a mid-range zoom right now? i'm trying to cover all my bases lens-wise...though my main concern is concert photography, id like a versatile lens that will get a lot of use other than just at shows

any recommendations would be wonderful! :D

Comments

• Options
    ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 23,852 moderator
    edited April 4, 2008
    I think you might want to consider the Canon EF 85mm, f1.8:

http://www.dgrin.com/showthread.php?t=11413
    ziggy53
    Moderator of the Cameras and Accessories forums
  • Options
    Art ScottArt Scott Registered Users Posts: 8,959 Major grins
    edited April 4, 2008
    A few years ago I spent nearly every thurs and fri at either the ks coliseum or century 2 or the cotillion ballroom (or out ot town or state) shooting concerts.....you have a great collection of lens but my fav of all time and I still use it more now than any other is the 70-210f2.8.......I was shooting concerts with a Vivatar 70-210f2.8-4....then I moved to Siggy's when that camera kit was stolen and I went to Nikon....went digitasl with Konica Minolta dues to the built in AS and have one boddy with siggy 70-210 f2.8 and other body with a siggy 24-70f2.8....I hate switching lenses in clubs or at concerts so this suits me perfectly.....

So in answer to you question I would trade the 70-300 f4 for a 70-200f2.8.....