Options

RAW workflow

joshhuntnmjoshhuntnm Registered Users Posts: 1,924 Major grins
edited April 15, 2008 in Finishing School
I am new to shooting RAW and am consulting Photoshop Elements 6 for digital Photographers. they suggest the steps below. I'd be curious about what steps you normally take. I am most interested in which sliders you almost NEVER use, or use very sparingly. This list is my adaptation of the book, which I found helpful. You won't find it listed exactly this way in the book.

Step 1 white balance
Step 2 exposure. They suggest moving exposture up (or down) till it looks right, then move the recovery slider until there is no (or little) clipping. Click on the triangle in the upper right hand corner to toggle on clipping.
Step 3 shadows to make the blacks black. If a little clipping occurs in the shadows, it is OK
Step 4 brightness slider. This effects mostly the mid tones. They use this the least.
Step 5 Fill light. All photos don't need this, but some do. I got a little lost at this point, because it seems this is doing more or less the same thing as the brightness. They say if you move it too much you will also need to move up the Blacks.
Step 6 Vibrancy. They really like this slider. In my (very) limited experience, it seems it needs to be moved carefully. Too little is better than too much. It can add pop if you don't overdo it.
Step 7 Clarity. They really like this one too. They call it the "make my photos look better" slider. Similar to sharpening. I didn't quite grasp the difference.
Step 8 cropping and straightening. Unlike cropping in PS or Elements, the additional information is saved so if you want to go back and get it you can.
Step 9 Sharpening. they say they do a little here and a little at the end of the process. Around 100%, radius of 1
Step 10 save as a dng file

There is a quite a bit more detail in the book, but i wanted to make myself some Cliff notes, and get some feed back from the experts on dgrin.

Comments

• Options