Options

B/W to Color Change

Rcphil8Rcphil8 Registered Users Posts: 15 Big grins
edited April 17, 2008 in Finishing School
I'm really new to all this but I think this is a simple question.
Recently I had a photo shoot and the photographer changed some of the photos from color to black and white. Is it possible for me (I have PS but as stated, am really new to this) to change the photos back to color or would I need the original? Does the photo retain the color digital info of the picture or are the pixels permanetly altered to black and white after PS editing?
Also, the photographer is requesting a small fee for the color photos stating the "conversion" would take some time. I would have thought they kept an original in color but the fee is small so I do not mind. I am wondering if the original is required, then wouldn't the photographer simply be copying the files to a disk, meaning no conversion time is required? Am I being led to believe more effort is required then there actually is?
Thanks for the help!

Comments

• Options
    RichardRichard Administrators, Vanilla Admin Posts: 19,929 moderator
    edited April 16, 2008
    Rcphil8 wrote:
    Recently I had a photo shoot and the photographer changed some of the photos from color to black and white. Is it possible for me (I have PS but as stated, am really new to this) to change the photos back to color or would I need the original? Does the photo retain the color digital info of the picture or are the pixels permanetly altered to black and white after PS editing?
    Also, the photographer is requesting a small fee for the color photos stating the "conversion" would take some time. I would have thought they kept an original in color but the fee is small so I do not mind. I am wondering if the original is required, then wouldn't the photographer simply be copying the files to a disk, meaning no conversion time is required? Am I being led to believe more effort is required then there actually is?