Options

Lens or flash?

JavaLoverJavaLover Registered Users Posts: 306 Major grins
edited April 24, 2008 in Accessories
Ok, I'm really new to digital. My hubby got me a 40D for Christmas. I've been playing around and trying to read everything I can. I was all set to figure out what lens I wanted, then I had a thought, should I get a flash first. Money does not grow on trees and I'll have to piece together my kit. So should I just really work with the lens that came with the camera (28-135mm) and get a flash or for go the flash for now and figure out what lens I want? :scratch

Thanks in advance for the advice. :bow
Canon 40D, stock lens and now a Canon 55mm-250mm f/4-5.6 IS.
tfarley.smugmug.com

Comments

• Options
    rpcrowerpcrowe Registered Users Posts: 733 Major grins
    edited April 21, 2008
    I would get a flash...
    As I understand your posting - you already have the 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS lens. That lens, while perhaps not quite in the category of the 17-55mm f/2.8 IS or the 24-70mm f/2.8L lenses; is a very good performer. I used this lens for several years and still have it.

Frankly, I think the performance of my copy is excellent and I really like its focal length.

Some folks pan this lens because the 28mm side is not quite wide enough for all around shooting. Perhaps it isn't but, it matches up very nicely with a wide angle lens as a shooting duo. I shot for a long while with the 28-135mm lens teamed up with a Canon 20mm f/2.8. This lens combination really served me fairly well. I liked it because both lenses fit in a Tamrac Zoom 19 holster case and both lenses used "relatively" inexpensive 72mm filters.

However, the 20mm was not "quite" as wide as I wanted. I really liked the combination of the 28-135mm lens with the Tokina 12-24mm f/4 ATX.