Options

Saving in Lightroom

gwendolyngwendolyn Registered Users Posts: 66 Big grins
edited May 2, 2008 in Finishing School
I just got lightroom and I'm so confused! :scratch I just want to know how to save an image. Once I make changes (edit) a photo, how do I make sure the changes are saved? Do I need to use the export feature?

I noticed I can save the whole catalog. Will the changes I make change in elements.

Sorry if I'm being stupid. This program is making me feel dumb and frustrated. :cry

Comments

• Options
    PilznrPilznr Registered Users Posts: 262 Major grins
    edited May 2, 2008
    Don't be frustrated. You'll get used to it, and then you'll love it.

Yes, you do have to use the export feature. You can install a plugin for LR that uploads directly to SmugMug or other various photo sharing websites. Here's the thread... http://dgrin.com/showthread.php?t=76934

Let me know if you need more help, but I'm not a pro at it yet. You can probably find anything by searching for lightroom on DGrin.
  • Options
    arodneyarodney Registered Users Posts: 2,005 Major grins
    edited May 2, 2008
    gwendolyn wrote:
    I just got lightroom and I'm so confused! headscratch.gif I just want to know how to save an image.

It auto saves all your work. There's nothing to "save" although at some point, if you wish to EXPORT a rendered image outside of LR (to use in say Photoshop) you use the export command or Edit in External editor. But short of that, everything you do is auto saved.
    Andrew Rodney
    Author "Color Management for Photographers"
    http://www.digitaldog.net/
  • Options
    jfriendjfriend Registered Users Posts: 8,097 Major grins
    edited May 2, 2008
    gwendolyn wrote:
    I just got lightroom and I'm so confused! headscratch.gif I just want to know how to save an image. Once I make changes (edit) a photo, how do I make sure the changes are saved? Do I need to use the export feature?